Still…

It seems like my mind is always on the run…

My actions and behaviors soon follow those racing thoughts…

All day long I dream of being still…

Still with a quiet cup of coffee. Still with my husband enjoying a good conversation. Still with my children playing and laughing with nothing to worry about. Just still enjoying the very moment I’m in.

Although it seems that the things that are most important to me get lost in the shuffle of my racing thoughts and behaviors.

I want to find a way to quiet my thoughts that dictate my marathon days and find a way to do those things that are most important to me. It comes down to a decision, followed by an action…an action to be still!


This is my first time participating with The Gypsy Mama and her Five Minute Fridays. I’ll admit I was a little intimidated by just giving 5 minutes to writing because I am a new blogger, but today’s word was appropriate for me. I hope this type of writing will help me write what is truly on my heart in the future.

8 thoughts on “Still…

  1. You did great! I got nervous too, it’s a little like going to the mailbox directly after rolling out of bed, and talking to the neighbors for a spell. But it’s good for us all to recognize that beneath the makeup and coiffed hair, everybody rolls out of bed. Hope to see more from you!

    • Thanks Krista! [that’s weird to say without feeling like I’m talking to myself] It is good to know that “everybody rolls out of bed”. When I first sat down to participate I knew I only really had 5 minutes until the baby would fuss to go take a nap. So it was good for me to learn how to just put myself out there, raw and real, and not have to worry about editing. After one time of this, and I think I’m hooked! Can’t wait for next week!

  2. Impressive! Yay! You did it!

    I appreciate how you pointed out that even “being still” requires a very specific action. It’s not just a body posture; it’s a way of training the mind, right? We have to ACT in order to reach a point of stillness.

    • Yay! Thanks for the encouragement. It is short, but I was surprised how I came full circle in my thoughts in just 5 minutes.

      Reading other people’s blogs got me kinda discouraged in my writing skills, but this exercise showed me how it’s easy when you just write from the heart. Thanks for blogging so people like me can be inspired πŸ™‚

  3. Today was also my first try at five minute Fridays. My writing came out sloppy, but it is somehow very refreshing. I also can’t wait for next week! …An action to be still… so true.

Leave a Reply

