a new {beginning} to optimal health

8296307792_c2891a8301_c

So much has been happening in life at home these past few months. A zig-zagging journey through new health findings with my son, my health, and this mom’s desire to provide the best nutrition for her growing kids all led me to where I am today…A decided “Nutritarian” and gluten free.

The skinny {long story short}
My son was recently tested with elevated marks in his routine blood work for Celiac’s Disease. Through a biopsy of his digestive system it has been confirmed he does have it. I have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrom (PCOS), which I have had for years, and I am constantly researching how to live with this disease that most days feels like a plague. And of course the continual stream of information that comes at me through social media about the foods we eat that contain GMO’s, pesticides, antibiotics, hormones, and on and on…of which I am grateful to be enlightened. All these things led me to make some life altering decisions in the food my family eats.

Through my research on how to get my home gluten free I stumbled on information that broadened my knowledge base of healthful foods in general. Plus I discovered that being gluten free will help my battle against PCOS! Although not all of us need to be gluten free Dan and I decided to implement this lifestyle for the entire family, as well as transitioning to a more “plant-based” diet as opposed to the “Standard American Diet“.

I’m not going to lie, as excited as I was about the added benefits of living a life as a Nutritarian and becoming gluten free I had equal, if not more, anxiety {border line grieving} at the thought of giving up the foods that were my normal. Food surrounds so much in life, social events, birthdays, holidays, traditions, family outings, etc. Plus I LOVE to cook and bake. What’s a girl to do?

Regardless, I press on! For my health, for my family, and for the long-term. And I am thankful and glad that I do enjoy being in the kitchen as that will come in handy with my learning.

So here’s what I’m doing in a nutshell, and I hope to journal my way through with some of my favorite recipes, tips, achievements, and helpful findings for those of you who want to journey to a better life along with me!

Unlimited Daily:
GREEN VEGETABLES, ALL RAW VEGETABLES, NON-STARCHY COOKED VEGETABLES, FRESH FRUIT, BEAN / LEGUMES

Limit Daily: COOKED STARCHY VEGETABLES, WHOLE GRAINS, RAW NUTS AND SEEDS

Limit Weekly: FISH, FAT-FREE DAIRY, WILD MEAT AND FOWL, EGGS

Rarely: REFINED GRAINS, FULL-FAT DAIRY / CHEESE, REFINED OIL, SWEETS

Plus I have taken caffeine and gluten out of my diet.

So that’s it! Crazy! But so exciting! I am almost through week 2 and I’m feeling fabulous. I’ve lost 6.5lbs, and I have more energy than I know what to do with. Seriously how did that happen?!!!

Here’s a link to the book that has become my nutritional bible: “ Eat For Health” by Dr. Joel Fuhrman.

4 thoughts on “a new {beginning} to optimal health

  1. Krista,
    Thank you for sharing. I will pray for your son as you transition his diet knowing you have glucose conciderations as well. I look forward to you sharing great recipes especially low sugar baking as I have hit a wall there and would like to find some healthy alternatives. I am proud of you for making the life giving choices for your son and family. Thank you for sharing your journey.

    • Thanks Deana! You definitely nailed it with the glucose monitoring too.

      So far Samuel is taking quite well. I am committed to his long term health and teaching him by example with knowledge of these 2 diseases, as well as health as a whole.
      Instead of giving him a bunch of rules I’m giving him knowledge of what certain foods do his body and why it is bad or good for him. I focus on the good and encourage that.

      Thanks for your prayers. We are walking into a season that will need much grace. 🙂

  2. Thank you Krista! I love this and just recently have been researching gluten free and GMO-free eating. Thank you for doing this, I am with you! 🙂

    • You’re welcome Michelle!
      It really can be overwhelming when it feels like every direction you turn finds another problem leaving you {me} to feel “what’s healthy any more”?

      My hope is that my journal will inspire people to just do something. Taking it one step at a time…learning as I go.
      I know it can be daunting, but you can do it with time and effort. And don’t try to be perfect from the get go or feel like setbacks throw you out of the race.

      You got this!

Leave a Reply

